A Shiny New Blog About Common Sense

 

What is common sense?

 

The online COLLINS DICTIONARY defines it as

“plain ordinary good judgment; sound practical sense”

 

 

The online MERRIAM-WEBSTER DICTIONARY defines it as

“sound and prudent judgment based on a simple perception of the situation or facts

 

 

DOTTY HEADBANGER defines it as

a vital missing ingredient of society today. We all know what common sense is. We all recognise it when it’s put into practice and we all recognise its absence not only in our dealings with red tape and petty bureaucracies but in situations that previously upheld the laws of common sense but have now been corrupted with rules and regulations and procedures that turn logical, simple situations into nonsensical nightmares”

 

 

I like common sense. It’s kept the human race alive and at the top of the food chain for thousands of years in a world full of big, fast, snarly beasts with sharp claws and pointy teeth. Here’s an example –

A man and a deer are being chased by a wolf. The man and the deer are running side by side (yes, I know the deer is faster, give me a bit of slack here). They’re both knackered, they’ve been running for ages. They both have the survival instinct – neither wants to be eaten. Up ahead is a bush. The man thinks, ‘There’s a bush. I’ll hide behind it.’ The deer thinks… actually, we don’t know what he thinks but we do know that as the man dodges behind the bush to hide, the deer keeps on running, driven on by his base survival instinct which doesn’t contain one jot of common sense. The wolf follows, catches and eats him.

survival instinct + common sense = survival.

Moral of the story — if we don’t bring back common sense we’ll all be eaten by wolves.

 

*******

 

I’m no good at writing articles, they usually come out as big, unstructured rants with few details to support what I’m trying to say, (such as links, quotes or statistics). But I don’t care, I’m going to have a bash at it on this blog. If I don’t provide statistics and if my arguments aren’t as carefully considered as they should be – well, so what – common sense will let you know if what I’m saying is right or wrong.

But if, after I’ve given it a couple of tries, I can’t formulate my thoughts and feelings in a way that makes sense to anyone but me I’ll leave the articles to the guest bloggers I hope will materialise soon and I’ll chip in on the comments. Common sense tells me that’s the right thing to do.

So welcome to Common Sense Is Dead. Let’s see if we can resurrect it.

 

 

About Dotty Headbanger

I'm British. I love you. I'm nice like that.

Posted on September 11, 2012, in General and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. you’re smashing down the barriers one……barrier at a time…..it’s quite inspiring; i must go lie down…..in front of a tank

  2. Hi, Dotty. I liked this a lot. I see that you are British. I’m assuming that means you are across the big pond from me (in the US). That’s not common sense on my part, but perhaps a scosh of deductive reasoning. Anyway, to my point… Since you are ‘over there” (I assume), you might not know this, but I’m also assuming you are up on world news. And right now, here in the US, that snarly wolf is so close, I can feel his breath on my neck. I’ve looked and looked, and I can’t find an adequate bush.

    • Dear Patti,

      From the bits I’ve read I think we’re having similar problems on both sides – ruled by idiots who want to make the rich richer and get rid of the poor altogether. I’m not political in any way or form, but the stupidity of it all has gone beyond a joke.

      Love Dotty xxx

  3. It’s worth a shot Dotty, maybe we can tip the scales of commonsense and bring the world to rights.

  4. Hold on tight everyone…it’s going to be a bumpy ride…. 🙂

  5. Dear dearest dear Dotty

    Now I’m sure you’re a wickedly-playful Open University professor 😉
    You’ve introduced two concepts in this blog that are among the most difficult ideas to both define and employ with certainty. These problems terms are of course ‘common sense’ and ‘political’ and I’m thrilled to be challenged in this manner. I love it when when someone tosses what seem like obvious ideas out and then the more one thinks about them, the harder it becomes to know what one really thinks.

    I remain, madam professor, your intellectually-enthralled servant-student.

    D xx

    PS I particularly appreciated the paradox of proclaiming you were apolitical while putting forward political proposals.

    PPS Pardon my alliteration, but the blame surely lies with you for stimulating me to poetic replies…

Go on, say it!

